GRC Writing Lab

  person writing by hand

The literal fear of a blank page, writing inhibitions and difficulties finding the central theme can put a strain on the writing process of a research paper or dissertation. The GRC Writing Lab can help you through difficult phases of your PhD and postdoc by helping you to improve your own writing process so that you can continue to work on your texts with pleasure. Please note: correcting and revising your text is not part of our support.

A coaching session lasts up to 30 minutes and takes place online. After registering, you will be contacted by one of our writing coaches to set up a virtual meeting.

The GRC Writing Lab is only for junior researchers at UZH (or directly associated with UZH).

Writing coaches

Stephanie Gruber

Stephanie Gruber studied History of Art, German Literature and Linguistics at the University of Zurich. She holds a Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education and an Attestation of an Additional Qualification in Vocational Education for teaching at vocational schools, including the federal vocation baccalaureate in the subject German as the first national language.  She teaches at the Gymnasium Büelrain in Winterthur and since fall 2019 she is completing a degree in "writing support" at the University of Higher Education in Freiburg/Germany. On a freelance basis, she has been supporting students and doctoral candidates in the writing process, exam preparation and media presentations in German and English for several years.

 

Susanna Blaser-Meier

Susanna Blaser-Meier holds a PhD in Art History from the University of Zurich and a Master in Library and Information Science from the Humboldt University in Berlin. She is very much interested in supporting students and researchers in acquiring transferable skills, such as information literacy, time management, and academic writing. She is currently completing a degree in “writing support” at the University of Higher Education in Freiburg/Germany.

 

Meret Fehlmann

Meret Fehlmann holds a PhD in Popular Literature from the University of Zurich and has a Master in advanced studies in information science from the University of Applied Sciences of the Grisons. She is interested in supporting students and researchers in acquiring  transferable skill, like  information literacy and academic writing. She is now completing a degree in “writing support” at the University of Higher Education in Freiburg/Germany.

Registration:
PhD/Postdoc*
First name*
Last name*
Email address*
Faculty*
Writing language*
Preferred platform
Focus of the discussion:*

* These fields must be completed in order to send the registration form.

Please ensure that your email address is correct.

GRC Writing Lab

  person writing by hand

Die sprichwörtliche Angst vor dem leeren Blatt, Schreibprobleme und -hemmungen, Probleme mit der Gliederung, der Leserführung oder dem roten Faden, Unsicherheiten bei formalen und sprachlichen Aspekten können den Schreibverlauf der Doktorarbeit belasten. In der Schreibberatung erhalten Sie konkrete Unterstützung. Wir bieten Ihnen Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe, damit Sie in Ihrem Arbeits- und Schreibprozess vorankommen und mit Freude an Ihren Texten weiterarbeiten. Was wir nicht leisten: Wir lektorieren und korrigieren ihre Texte nicht.

Eine Beratung dauert bis max. 30 Minuten. Nach Ihrer Anmeldung werden Sie von einem unserer Schreibcoaches kontaktiert, um ein virtuelles Treffen einzurichten.

Schreibcoaches

Stephanie Gruber

Stephanie Gruber hat an der Universität Zürich Kunstgeschichte und Germanistik studiert. Zusätzlich hat sie das Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen sowie die Bescheinigung über die berufspädagogische Zusatzqualifikation für den Unterricht an Berufsfachschulen, inklusive Berufsmaturität, im Unterrichtsfach Deutsch erworben. Sie unterrichtet am Gymnasium Büelrain in Winterthur und absolviert seit Herbst 2019 eine Weiterbildung in Schreibberatung an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Freiburg i.Br. Freiberuflich unterstützt sie seit mehreren Jahren Studenten und Doktoranden im Schreibprozess, in Prüfungsvorbereitungen wie auch bei medialen Präsentationen in den Sprachen Deutsch und Englisch. 

 

Susanna Blaser-Meier

Susanna Blaser-Meier hat an der Universität Zürich in Kunstgeschichte doktoriert und an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin einen Masterabschluss in Bibliotheks- und Informationswissenschaften erworben. Sie hat ein grosses Interesse daran, Studierende und Forschende bei der Erwerbung von überfachlichen Kompetenzen zu unterstützen, sei es Informationskompetenz, Zeitmanagement oder akademisches Schreiben. Zurzeit absolviert sie eine Weiterbildung in „Schreibberatung“ an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Freiburg i.Br. 

 

Meret Fehlmann

Meret Fehlmann ist an der Universität Zürich im Fach Populäre Literaturen und Medien promoviert worden. In Chur hat sie an der Fachhochschule Graubünden ein Nachdiplomstudium in Informationswissenschaft absolviert. Seit vielen Jahren ist sie Dozentin an der Universität Zürich und hat vielfach publiziert. Überfachliche Kompetenzen wie Schreiben und Informationskompetenz liegen ihr am Herzen und sie unterstützt und begleitet Forschende und Studierende gerne dabei. Seit Herbst 2019 absolviert sie eine Weiterbildung in Schreibberatung an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Freiburg i.Br. 

Registration:
PhD/Postdoc*
Vorname*
Name*
Email*
Fakultät*
Schreibsprache*
Bevorzugte Plattform
Fokus der Diskussion:*

* Diese Felder müssen ausgefüllt sein.

Bitte vergewissern Sie sich, dass Ihre Emailadresse korrekt eingegeben ist.