Conditions of participation

Valid as of 1 January 2020.

Registration

  • Graduate Campus courses for PhD candidates are aimed primarily at PhD candidates matriculated at the University of Zurich. If you are not matriculated at UZH then you must apply for  Module Mobility in order to book a module.
  • For technical reasons the courses do not have waiting lists. We recommend that you use the UZH Module Booking Tool to check for free course places, in particular 2-3 weeks before the first day of a course (in the time between the booking and cancelling deadline).
  • Courses can only be booked online using the UZH module booking tool. You can only book modules during the module booking period and after paying your semester fees.
  • You are responsible for monitoring your own bookings and cancellations. This includes ensuring that your bookings or cancellations have been processed correctly.
  • If there is an insufficient number of participants, Graduate Campus reserves the right to cancel or postpone a course.

Cancellation

  • Before the canceling deadline: It is possible to cancel a course registration until three weeks before the first day of the course, midnight (see the respective course description for the exact date). It is your responsibility to cancel a booking in time using the UZH module booking tool.
  • After the canceling deadline: If an excuse is submitted without being prompted by email to kurse@grc.uzh.ch, Graduate Campus will cancel your booking. An email sent only to the instructor is not valid.
  • An unexcused absence (so-called "no-show") leads to a lost course place and takes the place of another participant away and is therefore prohibited. Without a written apology sent to the Graduate Campus before the start of the course by email to kurse@grc.uzh.ch, the booked but not fully attended course is recorded as a "Fail" on your transcript of records. An absence of more than 2 hours without prior notice to the Graduate Campus is also considered as an unexcused absence. An excuse given only to the instructor is not valid.

Assessment

Each course has an assessment requirement which must be fulfilled, regardless of whether an ECTS credit is needed or not. Complete participation is a part of this assessment. 

If you do not complete the assessment, the course will be recorded as a "Fail" on your transcript of records.

ECTS credits

An ECTS credit can only be be awarded upon successful course completion and perfect attendance

Concerning the number and allocation of ECTS credits, the following rules apply:

  • A course consists of a workload of 1 ECTS credits, i.e. 30 hours, including independent study and course participation
  • Each course has an assessment requirement which must be fulfilled
  • Attendance of all course sessions (complete participation).

The individual faculties decide whether or not academic achievements can be considered a curricular element of your doctoral studies.

Course participants are not automatically entitled to have a completed course recognized or considered as a part of their doctoral studies. For this reason, doctoral candidates are strongly encouraged to determine whether or not a course is recognized as a part of their doctoral studies before registering for a university-wide course. Ideally, the PhD candidate should discuss whether the recognition of courses with his or her supervisor before registering for a course.

Academic achievements are recognized as such if the ECTS credits earned appear on the transcript of records.

Teilnahmebedingungen

Gültig ab 01.01.2019.

Anmeldebedingungen

  • Die Kurse des Graduate Campus richten sich primär an Doktorierende die an der Universität Zürich immatrikuliert sind. Doktorierende anderer Universitären Hochschulen können am Kursprogramm teilnehmen insofern sie für IN-MOBILITÄT angemeldet sind. 
  • Aus technischen Gründen gibt es keine Wartelisten. Wir empfehlen, sich über das UZH Modulbuchungstool nach freien Plätzen zu erkundigen, insbesondere 2-3 Wochen vor Kursbeginn (in der Zeit zwischen Storno- und Buchungsfrist). 
  • Kurse können nur über das Modulbuchungstool der UZH gebucht werden. Modulbuchungen können nur innerhalb der Modulbuchungsfrist und erst nach Bezahlung der Semestergebühren durchgeführt werden.  
  • Sie sind selbst verantwortlich, Ihre Buchungen und Stornierungen zu überwachen. Dazu gehört auch die Überprüfung, ob die von Ihnen vorgenommenen Buchungen oder Stornierungen korrekt durchgeführt wurden.
  • Bei unzureichender Teilnehmerzahl behält sich der Graduate Campus das Recht vor, einen Kurs abzusagen oder zu verschieben. 

Stornierungsbedingungen

  • Vor Ablauf der Stornofrist: Abmeldungen von einem Kurs sind über das Modulbuchungstool der UZH bis drei Wochen vor dem ersten Kurstag, Mitternacht möglich (den genauen Termin entnehmen Sie bitte der jeweiligen Kursbeschreibung). Sie sind selbst verantwortlich, Ihre Buchung rechtzeitig über das Modulbuchungstool der UZH zu stornieren.
  • Nach Ablauf der Stornofrist: Insofern eine schriftliche Entschuldigung unaufgefordert dem Graduate Campus vorgelegt wird (per Email an kurse@grc.uzh.ch), kann die Buchung vom Graduate Campus storniert werden. Eine Abmeldung beim Dozent / bei der Dozentin ist nicht gültig.
  • Fernbleiben ohne Entschuldigung (sogenannte "no-show") führt zu einem verlorenem Kursplatz bzw. nimmt den Platz einem potentiellen Teilnehmenden weg und ist daher untersagt. Ohne eine schriftliche Entschuldigung gilt der gebuchte aber nicht besuchte Kurs als "nicht Bestanden" in Ihrem Leistungsausweis. Eine Abmeldung beim Dozent / bei der Dozentin ist nicht gültig.

Regelung ECTS-Punkte

ECTS-Punkte können nur bei lückenloser Teilnahme am Kurs und bestandenem Leistungsnachweis erworben werden. 

Für die Bestimmung der Anzahl ECTS-Punkte und deren Vergabe gelten folgende Grundregeln:

  • Ein Kurs umfasst eine Arbeitslast von 1 ECTS Credit, d.h. 30 Stunden Arbeitsaufwand durch Selbststudium und Präsenzzeit
  • Es ist ein Leistungsnachweis zu erbringen
  • Der Kurs wird lückenlos besucht (vollständige Anwesenheit).

Der Entscheid, ob eine Studienleistung als curricularer Bestandteil des Doktoratsstudiums berücksichtigt wird, liegt bei den Fakultäten.

Es besteht kein genereller Anspruch auf Anerkennung oder Anrechnung von Studienleistungen. Es wird deshalb dringend empfohlen, dass sich Doktoratsstudierende über die Bestimmungen zur Anerkennung und Anrechnung informieren, bevor sie einen Kurs des gesamtuniversitären Angebots in Anspruch nehmen. Idealerweise wird die Anerkennung und Anrechnung mit der Betreuungsperson vor der Anmeldung besprochen.

Studienleistungen werden anerkannt, indem die erworbenen ECTS Credits auf dem Leistungsausweis ausgewiesen werden.